Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

8 Pages123>»
Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline French_Fabrice  
#1 Posted : 29 January 2012 21:06:29(UTC)
French_Fabrice

France   
Joined: 16/05/2011(UTC)
Posts: 694
Location: Lyon, France
Hi Märklin fans,

After spending one year of testing, trying various ideas and making a lot of mistakes, I've decided to start a new project.

As I'm constrained by the available space, the layout will be small : 2.84m * 1.48m. It's a variant of a three-level layout described in Marklin Magazin 2010/04.

Here are the plans:

Level 1 - hidden station
UserPostedImage

Level 2 - hidden ramps
UserPostedImage

Level 3 - visible
UserPostedImage

and finally, it should look like this (not all the buildings are visible - missing 3D forms)
UserPostedImage

Well, quite some work to do...

Here are a few shots of the foundations:

Hmm...my cat is very interestedConfused
UserPostedImage

Is it rock solid ?
UserPostedImage

Some view from the underneath command center (S88 feedback)
UserPostedImage

Today's work: preparing for getting S88 wires
UserPostedImage

Command center, from the top; Wifi transmitter to the computer network; programming track;
UserPostedImage

Well, it's ready for level 1BigGrin
UserPostedImage

Deadline is end of year 2012.

I'll post from time to time, when progress is significant;

Cheers
Fabrice

Edited by user 31 December 2012 17:57:20(UTC)  | Reason: subject changed

thanks 2 users liked this useful post by French_Fabrice
Offline petestra  
#2 Posted : 29 January 2012 22:47:37(UTC)
petestra

United States   
Joined: 26/07/2009(UTC)
Posts: 4,208
Location: washington,dc
Hi Fabrice. Very nice track plan. There is a-lot of operation possible in a small area. Have fun building and keep us posted thru its progress. Kitty will enjoy it too as my two do!Scared
PeterThumpUp Smile
Offline Piggy  
#3 Posted : 29 January 2012 23:04:19(UTC)
Piggy

Australia   
Joined: 08/05/2009(UTC)
Posts: 590
Location: Sydney
Hi Fabrice. Look like you put a lot planning to the track plan. Great thinking planning the brake section at this early stage. I'm convinced you layout have great playability, I'm sure it going to turn very nice indeed. My only question is regarding access to the hidden areas, isn't it going to difficult if you build from 0mm elevation and upwards?
Regards
Kenneth

CS1 update - K & C tracks - German Era 3B & 4, with some Swiss and Austrian visitors. - My Layout
Offline MikeK  
#4 Posted : 29 January 2012 23:08:59(UTC)
MikeK

Denmark   
Joined: 14/09/2009(UTC)
Posts: 152
Hi Fabrice, That looks like some very nice bench work, and your wirering is admirable, looks like you really planed this through, can't wait to see how the layout progresses, keep us posted :)

^__^
MikeK
A single track on the floor is better than no track at all...
Offline kimballthurlow  
#5 Posted : 30 January 2012 05:00:54(UTC)
kimballthurlow

Australia   
Joined: 18/03/2007(UTC)
Posts: 4,183
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Hi Fabrice,

Congratulations on a very comprehensive approach to the layout building.
I particularly like your wiring planning, mine is embarrassingly untidy, and difficult to trace faults or plan extension.

regards
Kimball
HO Scale - Märklin (ep III, C Track, digital) - 2 rail (USA and Australia) - 3 rail (English Hornby Dublo) - a few old O gauge.
Online Ian555  
#6 Posted : 30 January 2012 05:52:11(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,662
Location: Scotland
Hi Fabrice,

Great start to your layout. ThumpUp

Ian.

Offline TrainIride  
#7 Posted : 30 January 2012 09:23:47(UTC)
TrainIride

France   
Joined: 22/10/2010(UTC)
Posts: 1,044
Location: FRANCE
Hi Fabrice,

A nice track plan,
A sufficient place,
A neat wiring,
A cat.

You have gathered all the components to build a great layout.
Congratulations !

Regards
Joël
Marklin HO - M track & C track - Analog mode - DC locos conversion to AC - http://www.marklin-users.net/TrainIride - my channel : http://www.youtube.com/user/2mes2mains
Offline French_Fabrice  
#8 Posted : 30 January 2012 18:33:36(UTC)
French_Fabrice

France   
Joined: 16/05/2011(UTC)
Posts: 694
Location: Lyon, France
Hi,

Thanks to all for such a warm feedback ! Love

Cheers
Fabrice
Offline Marklin in Oz  
#9 Posted : 30 January 2012 20:29:19(UTC)
Marklin in Oz

United States   
Joined: 24/11/2011(UTC)
Posts: 221
Location: Lawrence Kansas
Looks like a fantastic start! Mine's up and running at this point and I WISH I would have put up backdrops first as you have.
Blink
Wink
-Fred
Offline Johnvr  
#10 Posted : 02 February 2012 20:16:49(UTC)
Johnvr

South Africa   
Joined: 03/10/2010(UTC)
Posts: 815
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Good to lay a solid foundation like yours !
Those s88 boxes : how many control tracks do you plan to have on the layout ??

Regards,BigGrin
John
Offline French_Fabrice  
#11 Posted : 03 February 2012 22:56:41(UTC)
French_Fabrice

France   
Joined: 16/05/2011(UTC)
Posts: 694
Location: Lyon, France
Hi John,

At the present time, 45 inputs over 48 are planed to be used, so 3 are remaining free. It's not a lot if I decide to use for instance some blocks with more than 2 sensors...maybe I should add right now one more S88 unit to be more comfortable...Unsure

You can try to count the contact tracks on the plan. These are the "grayed" tracks (mostly 2295 units and a few "hand made" contact tracks, i.e. 15° curves like 2223, 2233 and 2 momentary contact tracks - the green ones).

Roughly counting, I have 2O blocks, without siding. Some blocks have 2 sensors, mainly on the visible part - level 3, to be able to stop precisely the locos just before the signal. Others have only one sensor.


Cheers
Fabrice
Offline jvuye  
#12 Posted : 04 February 2012 06:29:44(UTC)
jvuye

Belgium   
Joined: 01/03/2008(UTC)
Posts: 1,752
Location: South Western France
Hi Fabrice!
Looks pretty good, lots of variations and combinations with traffic...(but why am I *not* surprized?Wink )
I see you have mounted the whole thing on wheels, just in case you'd need access to the rear...good precaution
Speaking of access: do you plan to cut out the track pattern (level 1 essentially) out of that big piece of plywood?
If not you may have difficulties if you need to intervene in the diagonal hidden station
Your wiring looks pretty good!
I'll be taking lessons!
Cheers
Jacques
Jacques Vuye aka Dr.Eisenbahn
Once a vandal, learning to be better and had great success!
Offline French_Fabrice  
#13 Posted : 04 February 2012 09:36:47(UTC)
French_Fabrice

France   
Joined: 16/05/2011(UTC)
Posts: 694
Location: Lyon, France
Hi Jacques,

You've hit one of the design flaws of my layout : accessibility Crying

It's hard to find the right balance between what I'd like to have and what is doable. Sigh...!

I'm also waiting to have pictures from your Swiss layout project, which will be certainly very impressive.ThumpUp

Cheers
fabrice
Offline French_Fabrice  
#14 Posted : 05 February 2012 21:08:31(UTC)
French_Fabrice

France   
Joined: 16/05/2011(UTC)
Posts: 694
Location: Lyon, France
Hi all,

After making plans, let's start.

Putting tracks and preparing some track beds.
<shot007>

Preparing insulated sections.
<shot008>

Finished for today. 3-way turnouts are done.
<shot009>

It's not ice, but polyethylene foam. Trying that instead of cork.
<shot010>

Station exit
<shot011>

To be processed next time...
<shot012>

That's all folks. Stay tuned.
<shot013>

Cheers
Fabrice
PS: Server has trouble with uploading. I've attached files

Edited by user 05 February 2012 22:16:06(UTC)  | Reason: attached files

French_Fabrice attached the following image(s):
shot007-rsz.JPG
shot008-rsz.JPG
shot009-rsz.JPG
shot010-rsz.JPG
shot011-rsz.JPG
shot012-rsz.JPG
shot013-rsz.JPG
Offline BR01097  
#15 Posted : 06 February 2012 01:35:55(UTC)
BR01097

United States   
Joined: 17/11/2010(UTC)
Posts: 221
Location: Denver, Colo. USA


Our animals always seem to want to be a part of the activity which engages us so. I thought my cat was unique in this: apparemment, il n'est pas du tout unique.

____________________________________________________________________________

Collector of Märklin fine-quality trains since 1966.




Online RayF  
#16 Posted : 06 February 2012 08:49:04(UTC)
RayF

Gibraltar   
Joined: 14/03/2005(UTC)
Posts: 11,762
Location: Gibraltar, Europe
Great start, Fabrice! ThumpUp

This promises to be a great layout for playing with! Also, it's unusual for this forum to see a layout built in K Track! I look forward to seeing the fruits of your labour!
Ray

Mostly Marklin.Selection of different eras and European railways
Small C track layout, control by MS2, 100+ trains but run 4-5 at a time.
Offline petestra  
#17 Posted : 06 February 2012 11:17:07(UTC)
petestra

United States   
Joined: 26/07/2009(UTC)
Posts: 4,208
Location: washington,dc
Wonderful start, Fabrice. PeterThumpUp Smile
Online Ian555  
#18 Posted : 06 February 2012 12:22:56(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,662
Location: Scotland
Hi Fabrice,

Great progress. ThumpUp

Ian.

Offline GlennM  
#19 Posted : 06 February 2012 13:05:13(UTC)
GlennM

United Kingdom   
Joined: 09/05/2011(UTC)
Posts: 1,468
Location: Somewhere Near Manchester, England
I think you have chosen a very flexible and interesting layout, and you have made a great start. Please keep us undated and lots of pictures.

All the best

Glenn
Offline igf2  
#20 Posted : 08 February 2012 21:37:14(UTC)
igf2


Joined: 29/04/2010(UTC)
Posts: 249
Location: France
Well done Fabrice ! Nice layout for a clever track plan.
Offline French_Fabrice  
#21 Posted : 12 February 2012 23:00:35(UTC)
French_Fabrice

France   
Joined: 16/05/2011(UTC)
Posts: 694
Location: Lyon, France
Hello folks,

Great progress this week. It runs !BigGrin

I've setup most of the track beds of level 1, and wired the external oval and the 5 associated blocks.

A few shots:
UserPostedImage
UserPostedImage
UserPostedImage
UserPostedImage
UserPostedImage

Next step : finish the remaining blocks in the diagonal, and start the elevations...

Cheers
Fabrice

Edited by user 17 June 2014 12:21:36(UTC)  | Reason: re-uploaded pictures

Online Ian555  
#22 Posted : 13 February 2012 08:01:13(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,662
Location: Scotland
Hi Fabrice,

Your wiring is very neat and tidy, looks great. ThumpUp

Ian.

Offline French_Fabrice  
#23 Posted : 19 February 2012 20:35:43(UTC)
French_Fabrice

France   
Joined: 16/05/2011(UTC)
Posts: 694
Location: Lyon, France
Hi Märklin fans,

Intensive work this week-end. Layout is growing up...BigGrin

A few shots:

Men at works (1)
UserPostedImage
Men at works (2)
UserPostedImage
The 2 ramps are joined
UserPostedImage
An other shot of the junction
UserPostedImage
At foreground, the descending ramp
UserPostedImage
Overall view
UserPostedImage
Finished for this week-end...
UserPostedImage

Cheers
Fabrice

Edited by user 17 June 2014 12:22:10(UTC)  | Reason: re-uploaded pictures

Offline steventrain  
#24 Posted : 19 February 2012 21:39:07(UTC)
steventrain

United Kingdom   
Joined: 21/10/2004(UTC)
Posts: 27,302
Location: Northern Ireland
Look very good.

I think the Cat is inspection your layout.LOL
Largest Marklinist Layout with Centrail station 2/Mobile station 2/60174 boosters/C-Tracks/K-Tracks/M-tracks/Favorites class BR01, BR23, BR50, E103, E120/Insider Club membership since 2004.
Offline petestra  
#25 Posted : 19 February 2012 22:42:37(UTC)
petestra

United States   
Joined: 26/07/2009(UTC)
Posts: 4,208
Location: washington,dc
Hi Fabrice,
The layout is looking great. Enjoyed the update! PeterSmile
Offline charles Sharpe  
#26 Posted : 19 February 2012 22:54:37(UTC)
charles Sharpe


Joined: 21/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 1,350
Hello Fabrice

The layout is coming along nicely.

Charles
CHARLES SHARPE
Offline kariosls37  
#27 Posted : 20 February 2012 05:36:49(UTC)
kariosls37

New Zealand   
Joined: 02/01/2009(UTC)
Posts: 1,066
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Lookin' good FabriceThumpUp

Don't go easy on the supports for the raised section. It will come back to bite you in a couple of years time.

Cheers,
Rick
Online Ian555  
#28 Posted : 20 February 2012 06:22:25(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,662
Location: Scotland
Hi Fabrice,

Great progress on the layout. ThumpUp

Ian.


Offline efel  
#29 Posted : 20 February 2012 09:44:17(UTC)
efel

France   
Joined: 23/02/2005(UTC)
Posts: 847
Originally Posted by: French_Fabrice Go to Quoted Post


You've hit one of the design flaws of my layout : accessibility Crying



Then don't forget to short the end shutoff contacts of the turnout motors!

Fred
Offline French_Fabrice  
#30 Posted : 20 February 2012 12:21:37(UTC)
French_Fabrice

France   
Joined: 16/05/2011(UTC)
Posts: 694
Location: Lyon, France
Hello,
Thanks to all for your comments !

@Fred : That seems to be a good idea, but how do you do that (never did it before) ? My turnout motors are 7549. If the explanation is too long, a link or pointer will be greatly appreciated.

Cheers
Fabrice
Offline efel  
#31 Posted : 20 February 2012 15:01:46(UTC)
efel

France   
Joined: 23/02/2005(UTC)
Posts: 847
Originally Posted by: French_Fabrice Go to Quoted Post
Hello,
Thanks to all for your comments !

@Fred : That seems to be a good idea, but how do you do that (never did it before) ? My turnout motors are 7549. If the explanation is too long, a link or pointer will be greatly appreciated.

Cheers
Fabrice

You can see where to shunt the shut off switches there

Fred

thanks 1 user liked this useful post by efel
Offline French_Fabrice  
#32 Posted : 25 February 2012 21:42:44(UTC)
French_Fabrice

France   
Joined: 16/05/2011(UTC)
Posts: 694
Location: Lyon, France
Works on hold...
Inspector is inspecting...
UserPostedImage
Laugh

Cheers
Fabrice

Edited by user 17 June 2014 12:27:21(UTC)  | Reason: re-uploaded pictures

thanks 1 user liked this useful post by French_Fabrice
Offline nevw  
#33 Posted : 25 February 2012 22:04:55(UTC)
nevw

Australia   
Joined: 27/08/2005(UTC)
Posts: 11,614
Location: Strathpine QLD
Mmmmm Chief Inspector does not look too happy, must have found something not quite right.

Looks great though.

Nev
wearing the Pink Pinny, which is hard to see and now have a new shiny tin Hip that is badly in Need of Repair
Junior member of the Banana Club, a reformist and an old Goat with a Bad memory, loafing around
Offline Yumgui  
#34 Posted : 25 February 2012 22:07:59(UTC)
Yumgui

United States   
Joined: 20/03/2011(UTC)
Posts: 1,644
Location: Paris, France
Fabrice,

L'inspecteur semble dubitatif ^^ Laugh

(trans: The inspector seems skeptical ...)

Also, I agree with this:
Originally Posted by: kariosls37 Go to Quoted Post
Don't go easy on the supports for the raised section. It will come back to bite you in a couple of years time.

Be careful of the future ^^ !

Y Tongue

Edited by user 25 February 2012 22:13:37(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

If your M track is rusted ... DON'T throw it out !
Working on : http://www.arep.fr/en/#/welcome
Inspired by : http://www.nakedmarklin.com/ ... I am not alone in this universe, phew.
Offline petestra  
#35 Posted : 25 February 2012 23:21:38(UTC)
petestra

United States   
Joined: 26/07/2009(UTC)
Posts: 4,208
Location: washington,dc
Hi Fabrice. Great photo! What is the name inspector chat? Laugh Peter
Offline French_Fabrice  
#36 Posted : 26 February 2012 00:51:47(UTC)
French_Fabrice

France   
Joined: 16/05/2011(UTC)
Posts: 694
Location: Lyon, France
Originally Posted by: petestra Go to Quoted Post
Hi Fabrice. Great photo! What is the name inspector chat? Laugh Peter


"Lili", it's a female.Smile

Cheers
Fabrice
Offline French_Fabrice  
#37 Posted : 26 February 2012 00:54:00(UTC)
French_Fabrice

France   
Joined: 16/05/2011(UTC)
Posts: 694
Location: Lyon, France
Originally Posted by: French_Fabrice Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: petestra Go to Quoted Post
Hi Fabrice. Great photo! What is the name inspector chat? Laugh Peter


Thanks, Peter!
It's name is "Lili", it's a female.Smile

Cheers
Fabrice


Offline river6109  
#38 Posted : 26 February 2012 05:55:46(UTC)
river6109

Australia   
Joined: 22/01/2009(UTC)
Posts: 10,766
Location: On 1965 Märklin Boulevard just around from Roco Square
Fabrice,

great looking layout, looking at your raised section, I think it will withhold the weight of any train and to compare my supports with yours, mine is still standing and holding up after 35 years and this is with hot glue not wood glue but its always better to overdue it, than as pointed out, having problems down the track so to speak.

Your cat needs a night out or had too many late nights.

You rail connectors: I assume you connect them to a S88 detection module and the rail connectors on the this side are the ground connectors.
Lot of modelers install blocksystems, which is ok but it doesn't give you any guarantee of a free accident scenario; e.g. a train looses some carriages, in this case in the siding with 3 tracks. a train will not enter any siding track if there are any carraiges detected.
Detecting carriages or a loco is by isolating one rail and this is easely done with k-tracks, The S88 detects if there is anything on the track (AC wheels are detected).

regards.,

John

Edited by user 26 February 2012 06:04:02(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

http://www.youtube.com/river6109
http://www.youtube.com/6109river
5 years in Destruction mode
50 years in Repairing mode
Offline Johnvr  
#39 Posted : 26 February 2012 07:57:19(UTC)
Johnvr

South Africa   
Joined: 03/10/2010(UTC)
Posts: 815
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Fabrice,

Really looking fantastic.
All those long evenings which you spent planning this layout are now showing the model railway builders motto :
"Plan twice, cut once !"
Regards,BigGrin
John
Offline French_Fabrice  
#40 Posted : 26 February 2012 10:46:06(UTC)
French_Fabrice

France   
Joined: 16/05/2011(UTC)
Posts: 694
Location: Lyon, France
Originally Posted by: river6109 Go to Quoted Post

You rail connectors: I assume you connect them to a S88 detection module and the rail connectors on the this side are the ground connectors.
Lot of modelers install blocksystems, which is ok but it doesn't give you any guarantee of a free accident scenario; e.g. a train looses some carriages, in this case in the siding with 3 tracks. a train will not enter any siding track if there are any carraiges detected.
Detecting carriages or a loco is by isolating one rail and this is easely done with k-tracks, The S88 detects if there is anything on the track (AC wheels are detected).


Yes John, you're right. I have a total of 14 blocks in levels 1 and 2 (added one block last night in the left curve of level 2) to manage all the stuff in automatic mode with Rocrail. All blocks are wired (17 S88 inputs are used now over the 48 available) and OK.
Speaking of loosing carriages, especially while going up, wagons will arrive at the speed of light Crying (I've tried with one tank wagon, happily with no derailment until now) in the hidden station. The software will stop all trains ("ghost block" feature) in such a case, but it will not prevent from a crash on a staying train. I'm thinking of letting the straight track connected to the 3-way turnout always free to prevent disaster. I should have planned an emergency escape laneBlushing ... I'm gonna think about it, maybe it's not too late.

Cheers to all
Fabrice
Offline French_Fabrice  
#41 Posted : 26 February 2012 11:10:04(UTC)
French_Fabrice

France   
Joined: 16/05/2011(UTC)
Posts: 694
Location: Lyon, France
Hello folks,

Well, Kitty is sleeping now, so I could finish the ascending ramp.
Here are a few shots:

Yes, power is off !
UserPostedImage
From a larger point of view...
UserPostedImage
Overall view of ascending ramp...
UserPostedImage
Overall view of descending ramp in the background...
UserPostedImage

The long piece of straight track in the foreground will be the visible part of the ascending ramp...But I think I will start with the visible descending ramp at the rear...I have a lot of wood plates to cut...

Stay tuned
All the best
Fabrice

Edited by user 17 June 2014 12:32:51(UTC)  | Reason: re-uploaded pictures

Offline pab  
#42 Posted : 26 February 2012 11:23:56(UTC)
pab

Netherlands   
Joined: 03/11/2007(UTC)
Posts: 2,411
Nice set up Fabrice.

I see a lot of ground connections on just one side of the track. I suppose you know that the rails in K track are not connected. Is there a specific reason for the ground connections on one side?
Offline French_Fabrice  
#43 Posted : 26 February 2012 11:47:38(UTC)
French_Fabrice

France   
Joined: 16/05/2011(UTC)
Posts: 694
Location: Lyon, France
Originally Posted by: pab Go to Quoted Post

I see a lot of ground connections on just one side of the track. I suppose you know that the rails in K track are not connected. Is there a specific reason for the ground connections on one side?



All one-sided ground connections are here to provide feedback to the S88 modules. When a loco or a wagon stays in a section (block) delimited by 2295 tracks and linked thru such a ground connector to the S88, the corresponding information on the S88 line is set to "up", and then the software can deal with the fact the corresponding block is occupied...
Does it answer to your question ?

Cheers
Fabrice
Online Ian555  
#44 Posted : 26 February 2012 12:08:22(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,662
Location: Scotland
Hi Fabrice,

Looking at the first photo (post 41), how are you securing those supports in position, and is that 6mm plyboard that the K track sits on.

Ian.
Offline French_Fabrice  
#45 Posted : 26 February 2012 12:52:13(UTC)
French_Fabrice

France   
Joined: 16/05/2011(UTC)
Posts: 694
Location: Lyon, France
Originally Posted by: Ian555 Go to Quoted Post
Hi Fabrice,

Looking at the first photo (post 41), how are you securing those supports in position, and is that 6mm plyboard that the K track sits on.

Ian.


Hi Ian,
-the track beds (on level 1 and 2) are done with 5mm thick plywood.
-all the track beds are screwed to the pillar with two (or four) 2*12mm screws (it's enough, in my opinion, to maintain firmly the track beds to the pillar)
-the pillars have a base plate and a top plate; the base plate is either 5 or 10mm thick plywood; the base plate is screwed to the pillar with at least two 3*20mm screws; the base plate is then screwed to the foundation plate with at least two 2,5*20mm screws (if the base plate is 10mm thick, I use 3*20 screws); the top plate is screwed to the pillar with two 2,5*16mm screws...
I plan to use 10mm thick tracks beds on the upper level, but I'm still thinking...

Don't hesitate to tell me if I wrong !

Cheers
Fabrice
Online Ian555  
#46 Posted : 26 February 2012 13:16:29(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,662
Location: Scotland
Hi Fabrice,

Maybe, it's just in the photo's, but the track bed does look a little narrow, the slightest derailment and your expensive wagons/coaches/Loco's, would have a considerable drop to contend with.

Still time for a wider track bed and or some side supports.

Also, 5 or 6mm plyboard will have, over a period of time, some "give" in it, so plenty of your supports underneath.

Ian.

Offline French_Fabrice  
#47 Posted : 26 February 2012 13:54:01(UTC)
French_Fabrice

France   
Joined: 16/05/2011(UTC)
Posts: 694
Location: Lyon, France
Originally Posted by: Ian555 Go to Quoted Post
Hi Fabrice,

Maybe, it's just in the photo's, but the track bed does look a little narrow, the slightest derailment and your expensive wagons/coaches/Loco's, would have a considerable drop to contend with.

Still time for a wider track bed and or some side supports.

Also, 5 or 6mm plyboard will have, over a period of time, some "give" in it, so plenty of your supports underneath.

Ian.



Mmmm, good to know before it's too late.
Thank you, Ian !

Which minimum thickness do you recommend for the track beds ? 8, 10, more ?
Also, my track beds are 5cm wide...maybe 7cm wide will be better for aerial parts ? (and side supports also)...

Cheers
Fabrice
Online Ian555  
#48 Posted : 26 February 2012 14:26:26(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,662
Location: Scotland
Hi Fabrice,

I used 6mm plyboard for my Helix construction and 2.5 years later, no problems with it, but it is wide enough for a double track and also it has plenty of screwed rod supports.

Although, I must say, I do not have any side supports on it, but then, when you're using good old M track, you never have any derailments. Wink Smile

Ian.



Offline pab  
#49 Posted : 26 February 2012 14:32:39(UTC)
pab

Netherlands   
Joined: 03/11/2007(UTC)
Posts: 2,411
Originally Posted by: French_Fabrice Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: pab Go to Quoted Post

I see a lot of ground connections on just one side of the track. I suppose you know that the rails in K track are not connected. Is there a specific reason for the ground connections on one side?



All one-sided ground connections are here to provide feedback to the S88 modules. When a loco or a wagon stays in a section (block) delimited by 2295 tracks and linked thru such a ground connector to the S88, the corresponding information on the S88 line is set to "up", and then the software can deal with the fact the corresponding block is occupied...
Does it answer to your question ?

Cheers
Fabrice


Yes yjat makes sense, but you also need right side connections for the normal ground connection and left side connections outside the isolated S88 sections. Are those connected in another way?
Offline French_Fabrice  
#50 Posted : 26 February 2012 15:37:09(UTC)
French_Fabrice

France   
Joined: 16/05/2011(UTC)
Posts: 694
Location: Lyon, France
Originally Posted by: pab Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: French_Fabrice Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: pab Go to Quoted Post

I see a lot of ground connections on just one side of the track. I suppose you know that the rails in K track are not connected. Is there a specific reason for the ground connections on one side?



All one-sided ground connections are here to provide feedback to the S88 modules. When a loco or a wagon stays in a section (block) delimited by 2295 tracks and linked thru such a ground connector to the S88, the corresponding information on the S88 line is set to "up", and then the software can deal with the fact the corresponding block is occupied...
Does it answer to your question ?

Cheers
Fabrice


Yes yjat makes sense, but you also need right side connections for the normal ground connection and left side connections outside the isolated S88 sections. Are those connected in another way?


I you look at my plan, the grey straight sections are the 2295 tracks (one side sectioned rails). The red sections (for lvl 1 & 2) are feeder track rails (violet for lvl 3), providing both "B" and "O" lines. As a general rule (except when I've forgotten it) most of the time a sectioned block is followed by a feeder track, so I always get both left and right rail connected to ground outside the block. So I can use either the left or right rail inside a block, depending on the way I put the sectioned tracks, to get the S88 signal.

Cheers
Fabrice
Users browsing this topic
Guest
8 Pages123>»
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2014, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 2.306 seconds.