Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Registers.

Notification

Icon
Error

6 Pages<1234>»
Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline Bigdaddynz  
#51 Posted : 19 August 2007 10:17:34(UTC)
Bigdaddynz

New Zealand   
Joined: 17/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 13,692
Location: New Zealand
Yes Steven, the 37450 was the 2002 Insider model.
Offline kimballthurlow  
#52 Posted : 19 August 2007 11:50:00(UTC)
kimballthurlow

Australia   
Joined: 18/03/2007(UTC)
Posts: 4,180
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Hi David,
Your layout is a great effort, and very impressive. Lots of thought went into that.

Met one of your countrymen at Nathan's Trains in Brisbane yesterday, his name was Peter. I was not there for long, so did not get his full name, or what part of NZ he hails from.

regards
Kimball
HO Scale - Märklin (ep III, C Track, digital) - 2 rail (USA and Australia) - 3 rail (English Hornby Dublo) - a few old O gauge.
Offline Pianne  
#53 Posted : 19 August 2007 14:15:56(UTC)
Pianne


Joined: 26/10/2004(UTC)
Posts: 460
Location: Bruges,
Quote:
[size=1" face="Verdana" id="quote]quote:Originally posted by Bigdaddynz
<br />Who can note some subtle changes in the layout, which can be seen in this picture?
New catenary (masts)?

Btw, congratulations on the ore train!
Kind regards,
Pieter-Jan
Oostkamp, Belgium.
Offline Bigdaddynz  
#54 Posted : 20 August 2007 07:07:04(UTC)
Bigdaddynz

New Zealand   
Joined: 17/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 13,692
Location: New Zealand
Yes, Pieter-Jan that was one of the changes that has been made. I thought that the Electrotren concrete style masts were to 'spindly' for my liking, so I replaced them with the green latice style masts, also from Electrotren. They look much better in my view, and also fit in more with the German theme of the layout.

The other change may not be as noticeable in the recent photos, but fits in with a suggestion that Henrik made.
Offline Bigdaddynz  
#55 Posted : 20 August 2007 10:53:06(UTC)
Bigdaddynz

New Zealand   
Joined: 17/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 13,692
Location: New Zealand
Quote:
[size=1" face="Verdana" id="quote]quote:Originally posted by kimballthurlow
<br />Hi David,
Your layout is a great effort, and very impressive. Lots of thought went into that.

Met one of your countrymen at Nathan's Trains in Brisbane yesterday, his name was Peter. I was not there for long, so did not get his full name, or what part of NZ he hails from.

regards
Kimball


Thanks Kimball. We have several Peter's in our Marklin Club - I wonder if it was Peter Lemmon?
Offline alonso231gery  
#56 Posted : 06 September 2007 00:45:31(UTC)
alonso231gery

Greece   
Joined: 24/08/2002(UTC)
Posts: 3,942
Location: Hellas (Athens)
Hello David, really excellent layoutCool.
I love the complexity of your layout[^].
An outsider.
I'm looking for the owner of that horse. He's tall, blonde, he smokes a cigar, and he's a pig!
Offline Bigdaddynz  
#57 Posted : 06 September 2007 07:04:20(UTC)
Bigdaddynz

New Zealand   
Joined: 17/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 13,692
Location: New Zealand
Thanks Nikos, your comments are much appreciated.
Offline intruder  
#58 Posted : 06 September 2007 21:29:24(UTC)
intruder

Norway   
Joined: 16/08/2006(UTC)
Posts: 5,532
Location: Akershus, Norway
I agree with Nikos.

Great layout, David!
Best regards Svein, Norway
grumpy old sod
Offline Bigdaddynz  
#59 Posted : 03 November 2007 06:15:31(UTC)
Bigdaddynz

New Zealand   
Joined: 17/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 13,692
Location: New Zealand
Dale mentioned in another thread that we should all forget about Chinese who try to rip us off, and do something with our layouts, so I figured it was time that I post some more piccies about what I've been doing with my layout. This time it is tunnel building.

UserPostedImage

The initial formwork.....

UserPostedImage

Curved retaining walls are from a honeycomb plastic sheet which easily bends to shape. These will get some imitation brick card glued to it. Note the in tunnel catenary, made from pieces of tie wire (for steel reinforcing) soldered together. Seems to work OK.


UserPostedImage

Wire mesh stapled to the formwork. The mesh was folded randomly first to create valleys and ridges.


UserPostedImage

Plaster cloth placed over the mesh to form a hard shell.


UserPostedImage

I used some drywall finishing compound watered down, and brushed over the plaster cloth, which once dry forms a very lightweight but hard shell. Rock faces were formed from a layer of Sculptamold applied to the shell (US readers will know all about Sculptamold).


UserPostedImage

Static grass applied and rock faces finished off with a slate grey wash from Woodland Scenics. The block arched wall also fitted here. I'll also apply some trees, bushes, and whatever else I can think of that should go on a mountainside. Note the station platforms have been all painted grey as per Henrik's suggestion. The orange colour was just too 'loud' and bright (I have a piccie if anyone wants to see it!![xx(][:0])

Edited by moderator 11 January 2011 19:33:55(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Bigdaddynz
Offline nevw  
#60 Posted : 03 November 2007 07:38:36(UTC)
nevw

Australia   
Joined: 27/08/2005(UTC)
Posts: 11,583
Location: Strathpine QLD
Very Good.
N
wearing the Pink Pinny, which is hard to see and now have a new shiny tin Hip that is badly in Need of Repair
Junior member of the Banana Club, a reformist and an old Goat with a Bad memory, loafing around
Offline Macfire  
#61 Posted : 03 November 2007 08:39:22(UTC)
Macfire


Joined: 04/11/2006(UTC)
Posts: 2,652
Location: New Zealand
Dave - With the "School-Mam" voice:
"Yes Tony, there are some in my layout thread!" [:X]

Me - Eating humble pie:
"Opps sorry Miss - I knew that - just forgot that's all." [:I]

But bloody nice weathering job, oh and a neat layout. [:p]
Lord Macca
New Zealand branch of Clan Donald.
Offline steventrain  
#62 Posted : 03 November 2007 08:45:58(UTC)
steventrain

United Kingdom   
Joined: 21/10/2004(UTC)
Posts: 27,074
Location: Northern Ireland
Excellent,Very good!
Largest marklinist Layout with Centrail station 2/Mobile station 2/60174 boosters/C-Tracks/K-Tracks/Favorites class BR01, BR23, BR50/Insider Club membership since 2004.
Offline Bigdaddynz  
#63 Posted : 03 November 2007 09:07:26(UTC)
Bigdaddynz

New Zealand   
Joined: 17/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 13,692
Location: New Zealand
Quote:
[size=1" face="Verdana" id="quote]quote:Originally posted by Macfire
<br />Dave - With the "School-Mam" voice:

Sorry Tony, wasn't trying to be like that wink


Quote:
Originally posted by Macfire
<br />But nice weathering job, oh and a neat layout. [:p]
wink

LOL, I just smeared a bit of brown paint on them.... The loads were made from a foam insert, with sand and glue sprinkled on them, and painted to match the Langer Heinrich cars as best I could.

Thanks for the kind comments Nev (with the gammy arm), Steven and Tony.
Offline hxmiesa  
#64 Posted : 03 November 2007 13:14:40(UTC)
hxmiesa

Spain   
Joined: 15/12/2005(UTC)
Posts: 2,343
Location: Spain
Quote:
[size=1" face="Verdana" id="quote]quote:Originally posted by Bigdaddynz
The other change may not be as noticeable in the recent photos, but fits in with a suggestion that Henrik made.

Grey roofs noticed! wink
Best regards
Henrik Hoexbroe ("The Dane In Spain")
http://hoexbroe.tripod.com
Offline Pianne  
#65 Posted : 03 November 2007 15:29:29(UTC)
Pianne


Joined: 26/10/2004(UTC)
Posts: 460
Location: Bruges,
David,

Are you still able to reach the trains inside the tunnel?
Kind regards,
Pieter-Jan
Oostkamp, Belgium.
Offline Bigdaddynz  
#66 Posted : 03 November 2007 20:22:46(UTC)
Bigdaddynz

New Zealand   
Joined: 17/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 13,692
Location: New Zealand
Very good point Pieter-Jan. I can reach a certain distance down the tunnel mouths, that covers that area. The arched brick wall is removable, and you can see where it goes in the 2nd last picture. That leaves the curved area, which you can see in the 2nd picture. I cut a hinged flap into the top of the hill, so I can reach in and remove any derailed items in that area - which I have had to do. A piece of wire mesh had come loose in that area and was catching some of the trains as they went past, thereby derailing them. Some quick surgery to cut the piece of mesh out was required.

The ramp leading on to the bridge can also be unscrewed and removed, to get to the track underneath.
Offline Pianne  
#67 Posted : 04 November 2007 14:13:01(UTC)
Pianne


Joined: 26/10/2004(UTC)
Posts: 460
Location: Bruges,
Always that Murphy guy, eh ! wink
Kind regards,
Pieter-Jan
Oostkamp, Belgium.
Offline huttel  
#68 Posted : 04 November 2007 18:25:05(UTC)
huttel

Denmark   
Joined: 11/01/2006(UTC)
Posts: 265
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Very nice...

//Thomas
Carpe Diem!

Märklin HO | Insider | C-Track | Digital | Era III+IV | PC Control with CS2 (60215), Intellibox & Win-Digipet | http://huttel.dk/marklin
Offline Bigdaddynz  
#69 Posted : 17 January 2008 00:48:58(UTC)
Bigdaddynz

New Zealand   
Joined: 17/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 13,692
Location: New Zealand
Quote:
[size=1" face="Verdana" id="quote]quote:Originally posted by Bigdaddynz
<br />.....Boy, is this a tight fit or what?? Getting this all out will be a worry. And, getting it down the stairs will be a bigger worry.....


Many a true word spoken in jest!! Since our exchange student has gone back to France, my step daughter wants the layout room, so the layout now has to go down stairs to the room the student was in.....
Whooppee!! The amount of stuff I've had to remove to get the layout frames around corners, well....[xx(][xx(][xx(]

A couple of caternary lattice masts got broken (fortunately I have replacements), and one of the station platforms flew apart when it caught on something, but no broken pieces.Smile. Also I had to remove the backboards, so there will be some repairs to be done to the hill/scenery, but nothing major. The layout is going into a larger room so I won't have this issue agian, but a bed has to go into the room as well...
Offline nevw  
#70 Posted : 17 January 2008 01:54:09(UTC)
nevw

Australia   
Joined: 27/08/2005(UTC)
Posts: 11,583
Location: Strathpine QLD
Suspend the Bed from the Ceiling and provide a Ladder for access. biggrin
More floor space then. [}:)]
wearing the Pink Pinny, which is hard to see and now have a new shiny tin Hip that is badly in Need of Repair
Junior member of the Banana Club, a reformist and an old Goat with a Bad memory, loafing around
Offline Ross  
#71 Posted : 17 January 2008 03:06:41(UTC)
Ross

Australia   
Joined: 24/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 496
Location: Sydney, NSW
Hi David, It's good to see you have taken Dale's advice and got on with the modelling, very nice. I guess we are now waiting for new photos with the layout in the new room.biggrin
Ross
Ross
Offline mrmarklin  
#72 Posted : 17 January 2008 04:55:45(UTC)
mrmarklin

United States   
Joined: 27/10/2004(UTC)
Posts: 515
Location: Burney, CA
I have a friend who had this layout for many years in a bedroom of his house until he moved. It's a great layout with a lot of possibilities.
From the People's Republik of Kalifornia
Offline Bigdaddynz  
#73 Posted : 22 April 2009 12:02:12(UTC)
Bigdaddynz

New Zealand   
Joined: 17/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 13,692
Location: New Zealand
By chance, I came across a thread in one of the German MRR forums discussing this layout (not my version of it, rather the Marklin 1971 implementation of it).

http://alte-modellbahnen...y.de/htopic,33,1971.html
Offline ozzman  
#74 Posted : 22 April 2009 12:59:17(UTC)
ozzman

Australia   
Joined: 23/11/2007(UTC)
Posts: 1,868
Location: Sydney, Australia
Great layout BD. How many trains can you run on it?
Gary
Z Scale
"Never let the prototype get in the way of a good layout"
Offline RayF  
#75 Posted : 22 April 2009 13:16:13(UTC)
RayF

Gibraltar   
Joined: 14/03/2005(UTC)
Posts: 11,459
Location: Gibraltar, Europe
Hi David, I agree that this layout plan is one of the best that Marklin has included in a catalogue.

Another thing that always strikes me when looking at the '70s catalogues is the sudden change in fashions between '71 and '72. In the '71 catalogue, the kids are all still neat and tidy looking, with traditional clothes. The following year, the kids have long hair and trendy clothes. I don't know whether it was a deliberate statement on Marklin's part, but I wonder if they decided they wanted to look more modern and progressive, instead of old fashioned?

Compare this picture from 1972 with those at the top of the thread, from 1971

UserPostedImage
Ray

Mostly Marklin.Selection of different eras and European railways
Small C track layout, control by MS2, 100+ trains but run 4-5 at a time.
Offline steventrain  
#76 Posted : 22 April 2009 13:26:45(UTC)
steventrain

United Kingdom   
Joined: 21/10/2004(UTC)
Posts: 27,074
Location: Northern Ireland
How is your layout process, Bigdaddynz?
Largest marklinist Layout with Centrail station 2/Mobile station 2/60174 boosters/C-Tracks/K-Tracks/Favorites class BR01, BR23, BR50/Insider Club membership since 2004.
Offline Bigdaddynz  
#77 Posted : 22 April 2009 13:37:46(UTC)
Bigdaddynz

New Zealand   
Joined: 17/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 13,692
Location: New Zealand
Quote:
[size=1" face="Verdana" id="quote]quote:Originally posted by ozzman
<br />Great layout BD. How many trains can you run on it?


Usually 4, Gary. If I put some more signal blocks in I might be able to get 6 going (4 running plus 2 stationary at the station)!

Quote:
[size=1" face="Verdana" id="quote]quote:Originally posted by steventrain
<br />How is your layout process, Bigdaddynz?


Stephen, I guess some of the stuff I have done is things you can't really see. For example, I've installed all of the light signals and signal controllers - the controllers are Viessmann kits (5290 - equivalent to the 5210), and took some building. Also I've put some reed switches in around the station area with an S88 decoder. I've also done lots of testing with various locos to iron out any derailing issues. Recently I did some more tunnel work around the far bridge approach, including the retaining wall you see in the last picture. Also I've fixed a few things that came apart when the layout was moved. I guess I should take some photos, but not a lot has changed visually!


Ray, yes you are quite right, there was a distinctive change in style in the catalogs around that time. The 1970 and 1971 catalogs are still among my favourites ones, mainly due to the large layouts featured in each of them, but I like they way they featured all the locos of that era - great classic Marklin.
Offline alonso231gery  
#78 Posted : 22 April 2009 16:52:02(UTC)
alonso231gery

Greece   
Joined: 24/08/2002(UTC)
Posts: 3,942
Location: Hellas (Athens)
Your BB will be able to run there David?
It is a fine layout btw.
An outsider.
I'm looking for the owner of that horse. He's tall, blonde, he smokes a cigar, and he's a pig!
Offline jvuye  
#79 Posted : 22 April 2009 17:49:39(UTC)
jvuye

Belgium   
Joined: 01/03/2008(UTC)
Posts: 1,724
Location: South Western France
Superb layout!
A real "play" biggrinCoolSmilelayout if you ask me, and that is the basic idea, isn't it?
A friend of mine at ETE in California had build the exact same layout and we had lots of fun operating it!
Great choice and good (bench)work !
Yes Jon I have noticed the same here too: wood is usually of better quality here in France too than I used to know in California.
But the prices are much higher too! (Maybe just a "France" phenomenon, I don't really know)
I am investigating to use strips cut in 10 or 12 mm thick plywood for the sides of the benchwork.
I have calculated that it would save me about 50% of the materials cost.
Maybe I am just lucky that the place where I buy plywood here is willing to cut all the strips from large plates at only a nominal charge.
Cheers
Jacques
Jacques Vuye aka Dr.Eisenbahn
Once a vandal, learning to be better and had great success!
Offline Trainingtime  
#80 Posted : 22 April 2009 18:09:13(UTC)
Trainingtime


Joined: 09/12/2005(UTC)
Posts: 315
Location: Ohio, USA
Looks great!
Offline Bigdaddynz  
#81 Posted : 22 April 2009 20:35:36(UTC)
Bigdaddynz

New Zealand   
Joined: 17/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 13,692
Location: New Zealand
Quote:
[size=1" face="Verdana" id="quote]quote:Originally posted by alonso231gery
<br />Your BB will be able to run there David?
It is a fine layout btw.


Thanks for your kind comments Nikos, Jacques and Jim. I sure hope the BB will be able to run on the layout, but I'm still waiting for ETS to come to the party.........[:0]
Offline poppa-7  
#82 Posted : 04 January 2010 02:35:53(UTC)
poppa-7


Joined: 10/07/2007(UTC)
Posts: 47
Location: Palmerston North, New Zealand

Hi David
What a great layout, You must be very proud of that you have achieved. How many locos do you have and how many are you able to run at the same time, & have you installed any signals yet?
Cheers
Russell
[^][^][^][^]
Offline Bigdaddynz  
#83 Posted : 04 January 2010 06:51:02(UTC)
Bigdaddynz

New Zealand   
Joined: 17/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 13,692
Location: New Zealand
Hi Russell, thanks for the comments. I have around 40 locos (1 of which I brought from you), but I can really only run 4 at a time on the layout. Yes, I have installed some Viessmann light signals in the station area - basically one exit signal for each of the 4 tracks in the station area. I've also set up some reed switches in the station area, which are connected to an S88 module. This allows some automatic running should I want to. I can either control the running from the CS1, or from fvri's LocCommander software.

I've haven't done too much scenic work. I have put up some framing for tunnels on the right hand side leading onto the bridge, and have also been repairing some catenary under the ramp coming off the other end of the bridge - see my first picture of 03 Nov 2007 - it's the bit of catenary that curves underneath the bridge ramp.

And having put it all back together again, I've got to open it up again, because there is a dead spot underneath, and locos get stuck right where I can't get my hand.

Of course, you may recall that you supplied me with some of the catenary wire I have.
Offline poppa-7  
#84 Posted : 05 January 2010 04:49:58(UTC)
poppa-7


Joined: 10/07/2007(UTC)
Posts: 47
Location: Palmerston North, New Zealand
Hi David
I would like to add signals to my layout, preferably Viesmann semaphore with four blocks and braking modules at each, but as yet I am unsure of just how to go about it. I plan to build a test track so that I can gain some knowledge in this area. S88 seem a good option but all the info I have on this is very sketchy. I plan to pick Dion's brains at the Convention at Easter in Christchurch all being well. Are you going?
Cheers
RussellSmileSmileSmile
Offline Nightowl4933  
#85 Posted : 05 January 2010 20:35:29(UTC)
Nightowl4933


Joined: 08/02/2008(UTC)
Posts: 965
Location: Wiltshire
Quote:
[size=1" face="Verdana" id="quote]quote:Originally posted by Bigdaddynz
<br />You're very close Johnny, in fact it is from the 1971 catalogue. It has been made slightly larger to fit into the available space.

1970 and 1971 were the only times, IMHO, that Marklin ever published a decent track plan in the catalogue. I wish they would still do this!!


Except for their Z gauge layouts - coz Z didn't come out until 1972 biggrin[:o)]

Pete
Living on Earth is expensive, but it does include a free trip around the sun every year.

Z Scale is great - where's me glasses?
Offline Nightowl4933  
#86 Posted : 05 January 2010 20:55:14(UTC)
Nightowl4933


Joined: 08/02/2008(UTC)
Posts: 965
Location: Wiltshire
It is a great layout, Dave, and cetainly a classic.

My first introduction to Maerklin was in 1960-ish, and then again in 1965 when we returned to Germany from Singapore. Layouts like this were always dreams to me.

Stupidly (kick, punch, scratch, poke) I sold all my HO stuff when I joined the Army in 1973 - for £20! I don't think I've ever regretted anything so much since I returned to the hobby in 2007. I sold, basically, 2 starter sets with a lot of additional track and some other accessories - including an automatic barrier.

Keep up the good work, and keep us posted on progress.

Pete
Living on Earth is expensive, but it does include a free trip around the sun every year.

Z Scale is great - where's me glasses?
Offline intruder  
#87 Posted : 05 January 2010 22:25:30(UTC)
intruder

Norway   
Joined: 16/08/2006(UTC)
Posts: 5,532
Location: Akershus, Norway
Very good, David!
Best regards Svein, Norway
grumpy old sod
Offline Breitenfurt  
#88 Posted : 05 January 2010 23:15:07(UTC)
Breitenfurt


Joined: 01/01/2008(UTC)
Posts: 872
Location: Scotland
There was a beautiful layout plan in the Z scale 1985-1986 catalogue. Complete with excellent photos as well.
Offline Bigdaddynz  
#89 Posted : 05 January 2010 23:30:11(UTC)
Bigdaddynz

New Zealand   
Joined: 17/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 13,692
Location: New Zealand
Now Chris, do you mean the one on page 15 or the one on page 32?
Offline Bigdaddynz  
#90 Posted : 07 January 2010 22:40:15(UTC)
Bigdaddynz

New Zealand   
Joined: 17/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 13,692
Location: New Zealand
Russell, you asked about signalling and block control on my layout, here's how I do it on this reasonably simple layout.


Bascially, I have 4 signals, one at each blue point on the following diagram.



UserPostedImage


Exit signals are placed at the blue lines. Reed contacts are placed at the red lines (entry) and green lines (exit). Trains carry a magnet on the last coach / car of the train. The sequence starts with all signals set to red. When a train runs over a red reed contact, the CS will set the signal on the other track to green, and sets the entry turnout to that track. That incoming train stops at its signal. The outgoing train then runs over the green reed contact which sets all signals back to red. The outgoing train does a circuit of the layout, and ends up running over its red reed contact and triggers the sequence for the other train.

I use Viessmann 4213 colour light signals, which are operated by a Viessmann 5210 signal controller. I also use a brake module similar to the Viessmann 5232 brake module.


All reed switches are wired to an S88 decoder, which in turn is wired back to the CS1. S88 decoders are used for sensor input to enable automatic train running. In the Marklin 3 rail world, you can use a variety of sensors to provide input into the S88 decoders. You can use reed switches, which are activated by magnets on locos and or coaches, and at least 2 types of contact tracks, one of which is activated by the centre rail pickup shoe on a loco, the other by the AC wheelsets shorting out both outside rails. There are also special S88's available which can detect current draw in a track section as a loco passes over that section. The CS1/CS2 can take input from S88 decoders, they are connected in a chain via a special ribbon cable (a short cable - 150mm - comes with each S88 decoder, anything longer you will have to buy).

Some sensors such as the reed switch can be useful to determine when a train has cleared a certain point, if the magnet is placed on the last car/coach. Other sensors like the contact track activated by wheelsets can be useful to determine whether a stationary train is occupying a section of track.

One end of a sensor is connected to the S88 decoder, the other is normally connected to track ground. There is a ground connection on the S88, and the S88 is wired back to the controller by a S88 ribbon cable. You then use the features of the controller to define actions such as routes/signal/point control to be taken when a sensor is triggered.

Edited by moderator 11 January 2011 15:53:44(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Offline poppa-7  
#91 Posted : 08 January 2010 00:19:00(UTC)
poppa-7


Joined: 10/07/2007(UTC)
Posts: 47
Location: Palmerston North, New Zealand
Hi David
Thanks for your block control description, I am slowly collecting knowledge on the digital aspects of model railroading, but its a slow process. If I ("the digital dummy") read you correctly, the "reeds" are only connected to S88 decoder & this decoder is programmed via the CS, and I assume the semaphore signals would be wired the same as the light signals. As for the braking module, I take it the signal is not connected to it but operates independently.
Thanks
Regards
Russell (slowly decoming unConfused)
Offline Bigdaddynz  
#92 Posted : 08 January 2010 10:00:01(UTC)
Bigdaddynz

New Zealand   
Joined: 17/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 13,692
Location: New Zealand
Russell, the 5210 signal controller is driven by a K83 solenoid decoder (Viessmann 5211), which also drives the brake module. So, when the signal is set to stop, so is the brake module. You could use a simple relay to cut track power instead of the brake module, but the module is a bit more realistic.

Yes, the reed contacts are wired to the S88, and the CS is programmed to take certain actions when a specific reed contact is activated. The CS has a setup screen for the S88's where you can see the individual contacts, and you can get a visual indication of whether the contact is working by manually activating it - i.e. in this case by passing a magnet over the contact.

Always remember when looking at the S88 setup screen on the CS that the contacts are numbered from right to left, i.e. #1 is on the extreme right.
Offline DireKiwi  
#93 Posted : 23 April 2010 11:44:52(UTC)
DireKiwi


Joined: 17/02/2010(UTC)
Posts: 7
Location: NZ
Hey Dave,

Whats happening with the layout? Got any up to date pics?
The whole world isn't made of Marklin - but it should be.
Offline Bigdaddynz  
#94 Posted : 23 April 2010 13:31:59(UTC)
Bigdaddynz

New Zealand   
Joined: 17/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 13,692
Location: New Zealand
Haven't done a lot on the layout lately. Apart from pulling it out from the wall so that I can get around the back of it. I haven't taken much in the way of up to date photos, not that the layout is much more up to date than the pictures already shown!

I guess I'd better get too and do something, as I'm meant to be taking our club's November clinic on my layout, so I'd better have something more to present than what I've already shown at the last presentation I did!
Offline steventrain  
#95 Posted : 23 April 2010 14:39:24(UTC)
steventrain

United Kingdom   
Joined: 21/10/2004(UTC)
Posts: 27,074
Location: Northern Ireland
DireKiwi wrote:
Hey Dave,

Whats happening with the layout? Got any up to date pics?



Dave have spend much time on computer that layout.Wink
Largest marklinist Layout with Centrail station 2/Mobile station 2/60174 boosters/C-Tracks/K-Tracks/Favorites class BR01, BR23, BR50/Insider Club membership since 2004.
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by steventrain
Offline dr rookie  
#96 Posted : 23 April 2010 17:28:30(UTC)
dr rookie


Joined: 26/10/2009(UTC)
Posts: 148
Location: Kota Damansara, Selangor
Very simple,nice and nostalgic layout and also should be fun running it.
Whatever you do the most count.
Offline Bigdaddynz  
#97 Posted : 23 April 2010 18:48:06(UTC)
Bigdaddynz

New Zealand   
Joined: 17/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 13,692
Location: New Zealand
steventrain wrote:
DireKiwi wrote:

Dave have spend much time on computer that layout.Wink


Too true Stephen! It's 4:47am, and where am I? On the computer!



Offline Ian555  
#98 Posted : 23 April 2010 19:19:59(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,490
Location: Scotland
Hi David,

When will you find time to get the car back together?

Have the parts arrived yet?

Ian.
Offline Bigdaddynz  
#99 Posted : 24 April 2010 01:02:16(UTC)
Bigdaddynz

New Zealand   
Joined: 17/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 13,692
Location: New Zealand
Ian, no the parts haven't arrived yet, they are still in TNT's Leige Euro Hub Depot in Belgium.

The Sierra blew its head gasket, water was coming out, but fortunately not into the sump. Since the head had to be taken off, I took the chance to have the cam lifters done, and the head has been planned a few thou, and had a valve grind and new cam bearings fitted. That was from the first set of parts I got in. The box that is in Europe has a water pump, temperature sensors, fuel filter, a set of coolant and boost hoses, and an exhaust manifold. The original manifold on the Sierra was cracked (fairly common occurrence I believe).

The mechanic still has to take the block out of the car, to check the frost plugs, piston rings, and main and big end bearings. The piston bores apparently look OK. A lot of this work is preventative maintenance, and may as well be done while the head is off the engine. So, I may need to get some rings and bearings as well. Getting this stuff direct from the UK is cheaper than buying it here in NZ, about 40% of what the cost would be buying in NZ.

I guess the frustrating bit is the time it is all taking.
Offline Bigdaddynz  
#100 Posted : 24 April 2010 01:05:04(UTC)
Bigdaddynz

New Zealand   
Joined: 17/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 13,692
Location: New Zealand
As far as the layout goes, I'm thinking about doing this to it. This will require some room extensions!

UserPostedImage


UserPostedImage


UserPostedImage

Users browsing this topic
Guest
6 Pages<1234>»
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2014, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 1.689 seconds.