Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline kimballthurlow  
#1 Posted : 01 July 2016 10:35:53(UTC)
kimballthurlow

Australia   
Hi,
This may be of interest to some.

I have been painting models for 55 years, using mostly Humbrol, which I find has excellent qualities.
My collection of colours includes pre-mixed Humbrol tins in the historical railway colours (from the 1970s)
The paint's gloss finish is perfect for decaling.
I have tried other brands as well.
With the weather here in Australia, I can both brush and spray outdoors.

For spraying dilution I usually use the proprietry solvents sold at hobby shops.
For brushing and cleaning, I use any solvent available, usually mineral turpentine, as it is available in bulk.
However, all these solvents do cause some discomfort to my breathing apparatus, if I am using them for an extended period.

In the last few years, I tried "low-odour" turpentine, with little improvement.
Recently I tried plain old eucalyptus extract (oil), which is available anywhere here, both chemists and High Street markets.
I found it perfect, because I also use it as a nasal decongestant anyway.

Spraypainting is now done rarely, so I doubt if I will get around to trying it as a spray solvent/dilutant, but I cannot see why it would not work.

regards
Kimball
HO Scale - Märklin (ep II-III and VI, C Track, digital) - 2 rail HO (Queensland Australia, UK, USA) - 3 rail OO (English Hornby Dublo) - old clockwork O gauge - Live Steam 90mm (3.1/2 inch) gauge.
thanks 10 users liked this useful post by kimballthurlow
Offline kimballthurlow  
#2 Posted : 10 July 2016 08:47:44(UTC)
kimballthurlow

Australia   
Hi,
As well as a collection of paints, I also keep a stirring stick for each colour.