Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline morsing  
#1 Posted : 30 March 2016 20:27:34(UTC)
morsing

United Kingdom   
Hi,

Just wondering, if you run double-headed, and one loco has a brief power outage and resets, what will happen? Will the other train just push it along till it gets up to speed? That can't be good! Would it be worth hooking them up with current conducting couplers?

Thanks
-----
Modelling west Denmark era IV - possibly with some out-of-place elements!
Marklin C-track + CS3+
12m2 layout to be controlled by RocRail
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by morsing
Offline Alsterstreek  
#2 Posted : 30 March 2016 20:45:09(UTC)
Alsterstreek

Germany   
Hmmm, I am a prolific double-header driver. When this happens on my layout, the affected unit picks up speed immediately. Either the acceleration is set to do that, or there is a capacitor "buffering". Even with a long and heavy tin plate train in tow, I never experienced any derails or other mishaps in such a situation.
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Alsterstreek
Offline BrandonVA  
#3 Posted : 31 March 2016 20:45:58(UTC)
BrandonVA

United States   
Hello,

I think some of it depends on the loco. One thing recommended to me in the past that does seem to help with Marklin decoders (MM, MFX, whatever), is to turn off acceleration/braking delay of consist members. That way if there is a blip in power for one unit, it doesn't have to ramp backup to speed.