Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline dickinsonj  
#1 Posted : 23 March 2016 15:31:45(UTC)
dickinsonj

United States   
Hi All,

I am considering a Roco 68152 (Roco Royal Bavarian Steam Locomotive S 3/6 'Pfalzbahn' of the KBayStsB). I know very little about Roco models and up until now most of my HO equipment has been Marklin.

Any input about Roco Loks in general would be greatly appreciated, and any insights into this particular model would be even better.

Thanks,

Jim
Regards,
Jim

I have almost all Märklin and mostly HO, although I do have a small number of Z gauge trains!
So many trains and so little time.
Offline nitramretep  
#2 Posted : 23 March 2016 15:45:29(UTC)
nitramretep

United States   
I am no expert but know of several people who own Roco loks. They are all report them as being good units but a common theme or complaint is the lack of pulling power, perhaps due to the plastic being used in place of cast metal or alloys. I like the unusual models Roco offers but am a little hesitant to buy until I get a few more comments from collector and operators I know. All in all I think they are good but the plastic use is a bit of a turn off for me. I would check to see if that particular lok is plastic or metal (alloy). I am sure there are others with far more experience than me on this site.

I have no Roco engines myself so the weight or plastic comments are based on other's comments. I can say the locos look pretty good, I am tempted to get the TEE by Roco myself.

Edited by user 25 March 2016 17:27:05(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Offline river6109  
#3 Posted : 23 March 2016 15:56:22(UTC)
river6109

Australia   
Location: On 1965 Märklin Boulevard just around from Roco Square