Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline Paul24  
#1 Posted : 08 February 2016 00:48:08(UTC)
Paul24

United States   
I'm relatively new to both Marklin trains and this forum, and I don't pretend to know electronics details. I'm getting desperate for some plain-English instruction about how to get my outdated digital controls to work, because the manuals I've got have been awful in explaining many basics.

These are the facts: (1) I've got a limited budget and bought a My World Starter Set (29162) for my grandson (and myself) because it had the cheapest digital loco; (2) As I became more familiar with Marklin, I decided to try to transition from the IR controller in the starter set, which had worked fine, to more regular digital control; (3) Since I couldn't afford the newest devices, I decided to go on eBay and buy the older digital devices, a 6001 transformer and a 6023 Central Control-i because the layout would not be that big in the near future; all I would need was to control a few locos and turnouts; (4) I set up the wiring for the transformer and Central Control, and placed the digital Henschel-type DHG on the track, but got no movement. The ancient booklet for the 6023 was no real help, and I was pushing buttons almost randomly, to no effect.