Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline sjlauritsen  
#1 Posted : 11 November 2015 09:44:01(UTC)
sjlauritsen

Denmark   
Hi all

A dealer of mine recently got a load of old Märklin catalogues from the 70'es and 80'es, and asked me if they had any particular value. The catalogues (I have not seen them) should be in "mint condition" and very well kept through the years.

To be honest, I am no expert on this, and I have no real interest in these catalogues, but I promised the dealer to ask around to see if someone might be able to give us a hint on a price range. Personally, I am not expecting much, but as I said, I am no expert. Smile

He also received an almost complete collection of MIBA, which we are trying to work out as well.
Søren from Denmark
Blog: https://railway.zone/ | Danish Model Railway Forum: https://baneforum.dk/
Offline mbarreto  
#2 Posted : 11 November 2015 10:00:45(UTC)
mbarreto

Portugal   
Hi,

I am also not an expert in that but last year bought all HO main catalogs that I didn't have since 1960.
They have value yes, but the most valuable (at least last year) are the ones before 1960 or so. You can check the prices in ebay.
If they are in english, the price is better check in ebay.com and not in ebay.de
Catalogs form the 50ies are expensive (for example 25 euros or more). The thing is the post and package from the US to Europe. In order to reduce costs
I found sellers that had several catalogs and ordered several in each buy and that ended in an acceptable price.
There is also one thing to consider before decide to buy old catalogs, that is even if they are mint the paper is old and must handled with extreme care for not damage. In practice this is not practical and touch those catalogs is kind of a ceremony... BigGrin Anyway it is a pleasure.