Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline petestra  
#1 Posted : 20 August 2015 13:26:23(UTC)
petestra

United States   
I have a question for you digital experts here in the forum. I have been operating digital with 2 x MS2s for almost 2 years now. I was wondering if

I switch over to the Central Station will I have to change all of my red wires to the larger gauge wire? Right now my whole layout uses the standard

sized Marklin wire. I have feeder wires every 8 track sections throughout the layout and it operates beautifully with the MS2s. If I must rewire all

red wiring can I just make a red wire loop with the larger gauge wire and connect up existing red wires to it or must I use the larger gauge wires

all the way to the track sections? Cheers,Peter Smile
Offline H0  
#2 Posted : 20 August 2015 14:31:06(UTC)
H0

Hi, Peter,

Official Märklin information is: You need thicker wires for the 100 VA power supply. And you must not use the 100 VA power supply for H0 layouts.

However, even with the 60 VA power supply (IIRC only 55 VA for US) you still may need thicker wires if overload detection does not work reliably on distant spots of the layout.

If you upgrade: upgrade red and brown wires at the same time.

Do you know the gauge of your current wires? Preferably in mm² ...
Regards
Tom
---
"In all of the gauges, we particularly emphasize a high level of quality, the best possible fidelity to the prototype, and absolute precision. You will see that in all of our products." (from Märklin New Items Brochure 2015, page 1) ROFLBTCUTS
UserPostedImage
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by H0
Offline petestra  
#3 Posted : 20 August 2015 16:32:59(UTC)
petestra

United States   
Originally Posted by: H0 Go to Quoted Post
Hi, Peter,