Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline Howard1975  
#1 Posted : 27 February 2011 06:56:23(UTC)
Howard1975

United States   
Hello, I just joined this forum today. I have a few questions about Marklin HO scale trains. I'm very new to Marklin trains, I'm looking for advice.

A little background about me. I have been active in this wonderful hobby for the past 25 or so years, since I was a kid. Most of my experience is with American type model trains, such as Atlas, Kato and Athearn, etc. I have also dabbled with Lionel. But I'm very new with Marklin. About a year ago, I received a couple Marklin catalogs for free (they are 1999-2000 and 2006 catalogs), which have been very helpful and informative. I have also seen the 1935-2010 catalogs available for pdf download, from this and other websites. For equipment, I have a Marklin 33043 German State Railroad Company (DRG) class 80 tank switch engine with a Delta decoder, a Delta-Control 4f (66045) controller, and a 6001 Transformer (120 Volts, 42VA), and a small amount of very old M track. I have enough track to make the proverbial oval, but that's about it. I don't have any switches (turnouts/points) or anything else.

Should I stay with my M track and acquire more pieces to make a nice layout, or switch to K or C track? I fully realize it's ultimately my decision to make, but I'm open to any and all advice. I don't earn a lot of money, but I'm also thinking long term. I don't want to make a costly mistake now, which I would regret later on. For the moment, I would like to stay with my Delta 4f controller. It works fine and serves my needs just fine, which is good enough for me.