Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline CanadianKid  
#1 Posted : 27 August 2016 05:03:32(UTC)
CanadianKid

Canada   
Hello Everyone,
I have a small question here. Now I realize one of the forum suggestions or rules is to look around on the forum for info before you ask a question, but I was confused as I bought used turnouts which were already wired, as I got them for a good deal.

Here you should be able to see all the 5 wires. (tell me if the image doesn't appear, this is my first time uploading an image) I understand that the 2 blues, along with yellow wire next to it get wired into a m83 decoder and then into a transformer(is this what it's called? Anyways, the hub where a lot of the wires meet), from there to the power box or whatever its called, and then into my ms2. (I think.)

According to my turnout, I also have another 2 wires coming from a separate spot which I know controls the lantern. Where do these go?

Also too, is there a better way of doing this or a cheaper (but still sound) way?

I personally am not too keen on putting electronics under my track- mostly because it is quiet costly for each digital decoder. ThumbDown

Thanks in advance,
Matthew
Offline Danlake  
#2 Posted : 27 August 2016 05:40:23(UTC)
Danlake

New Zealand   
Hi Matthew,

To get the solenoid to move, which then in turn will switch the turnout, you need to very briefly power the blue/yellow wires.

This can either be done manually via a simple push button control box that is powered by a Marklin transformer.

Or if running digital you need a decoder to very briefly (a few 100ms) send a pulse. This can be done by the K83 decoders. Different manufactures make them so you don't have to buy Marklin. E.g. Viessmann is a bit cheaper.