Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline rogerabbit  
#1 Posted : 22 July 2015 14:51:18(UTC)
rogerabbit

United Kingdom   

Hello. I am new to this excellent site - so I hope you will forgive what you will probably consider to be a very simple query.

I have just purchased a Marklin BR 50 Heavy Goods Steam Engine. The model is Marklin 3684 - AC digital. I want to adapt the model to run on old-fashioned standard M track. I have researched and discovered that it is fitted with a 6080 decoder. There is a slider beneath the tender so I assume this will pick up from the centre studs once the decoder is removed. It seems from the plans I have found that I will need to de-solder several coloured wires to remove the decoder. Before I destroy my model can I ask for your advice !

1. Have I got this right - and will the model run on three rail AC once I have removed the decoder ?
2. Is there anything else I need to do to convert the model ?

I'm sure your wondering why on earth I bought an expensive digital model when a much cheaper second hand non-digital one would have served the purpose. Well, I acquired this loco in mint condition for a fantastic price ! And of course I can sell on the decoder once I have removed it.

I would really appreciate your advice.
Offline H0  
#2 Posted : 22 July 2015 14:56:12(UTC)
H0

Hi, Roger,
Welcome to the forum.
Originally Posted by: rogerabbit Go to Quoted Post
1. Have I got this right - and will the model run on three rail AC once I have removed the decoder?
It won't run unless you add a reverse unit. Well, without reverse unit you can run in a single direction only.

With the decoder left in place it can run on analogue tracks. Why remove the decoder?

With decoder, lights will not work in conventional operation. Beside that there is no need to remove the decoder.
Regards
Tom