Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline H0  
#1 Posted : 18 June 2012 23:39:16(UTC)
H0

Hi everybody,

As a software developer I have solved several questions with help from Stackoverflow, a stackexchange Q&A site about programming.

Yesterday I found that a Q&A site about model railroad was proposed - as of today it needs 11 more followers and a few more example questions with a score of 10+ to enter the second phase.

See here (Note: this is a link to the new rail road proposal, the MRR proposal was closed):
http://area51.stackexcha...=gnph6fQpaBufDQghZfiWBQ2

Any question that can be asked on the proposed site can also be asked on this forum.
So what's the point of having another site?
  • Any active site that deals with model railroad might attract new fans for our hobby
  • They only deal with questions and answers (Q&A), but with a software optimized for that purpose

The new site would be no competition for this forum: Q&A only, no banana club, no beer club, no "Me and my locos", "Me and my layout", "Show us your purchases" &c.
To answer questions on the new site, we could link to the forum - or answers on the forum could link to the new site.

Special about Stackexchange: someone posts a questions, users can vote the question up or down and leave comments, user can post answers, vote answers up or down or leave comments on answers.
No votes on this forum and answers are chronologically - on Stackexchange, question with comments at the top, followed by the answer with most up votes and comments, then second best answer.
Users earn reputation (for could questions and good answers), badges and privileges.

We have this forum, so there is no urgent need for such a Q&A site - but I think it would be nice to have it.