Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline Bagrym  
#1 Posted : 17 December 2012 10:38:19(UTC)
Bagrym

Belarus   
Dear marklin community.

Need your advise please as I can't find answer for my issue myself (I have basic knowledges in electronics).

Recently I have bought marklin H0 track, loco BR 89 006 in Germany at flee market. All is in good conditions at first look. Seller didn't have transformer however for it and couldn't get one before I left Germany.

After some surfing in internet I have figured out I have most likely sfcm motor type which uses AC. At local radio market in Minsk I got custom made transformer from 220 V/ 50 Hz to 16 V (16-11 V with 1 V step) and power of 1 A. When I connect it to track (1 pole to wheels and another one to slide) I get lamp lightning and some noise only from reverse relay area. No movement. With tester I can see I have 16 V potential on loco (between lamp and track).

Inside of loco everything looks clean (especially field coil - like new), except 2 wires connected to reverse relay - isolation of both wires look a bit burned, but not fully damaged (there was no smoke when I connected power to the track). Can it be I simply have no enough power to move it?

I really would like to get it run around new year tree for my nephews. But after all the reading in internet - checking layouts etc I am getting addictive and now have idea to get some small layout. I know about advantages of digital marklin but first want to deal with analog.

Thank you for any suggestions!
Offline Iamnotthecrazyone  
#2 Posted : 17 December 2012 11:14:05(UTC)
Iamnotthecrazyone

Australia