Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline michelvr  
#1 Posted : 21 July 2012 16:30:30(UTC)
michelvr

Canada   
Good Morning,

I'm new with Marklin, but old with DCC. I have experienced setting up a large layout with one of the top North American DCC manufactures using all of their related components to run RR&CO., TrainController. It was a huge undertaking and it worked but I will tell you it was not a pleasurable experience. One of the reasons for me switching to Marklin three rail / two-conductor track system was the ease of wiring and abundance of proven components from Marklin, ESU, Viessmann and others. I will say that Marklin makes beautiful trains and the C track system is a pleasure to use. I'm now at the stage of buying a "Digital System" to use. After everything I have read and seen I have come up with two possible choices. Marklin Digital or ESU digital control utilizing the ECoS 50200.

My question is directed to those who utilize computer control. If you can start over again which system would you invest in?

PLEASE NOTE: I'm starting over again from ZERO, your input will be greatly appreciated.

Michel

Edited by moderator 21 July 2012 23:46:54(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

thanks 1 user liked this useful post by michelvr
Offline AshleyH  
#2 Posted : 21 July 2012 16:53:43(UTC)
AshleyH

United Kingdom   
I know this may not be entirely helpful, but there is no right or wrong answer to this.
Both Märklin and ESU make well respected central stations and associated decoders, and to a large extent the two manufacturers products are interchangeable.
You will find users of both controllers on here, as well as earlier digital systems and, of course, analogue!